BREAKING: ECOWAS lifts all sanctions on four member states run by military

Read Time: < 1 minute

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has lifted sanctions imposed on Niger Republic, Mali, Burkina Faso, and the Republic of Guinea-Bissau, member states that are ruled by the military.

The ECOWAS officials said on Saturday, Feb. 24, that the decision was based on humanitarian concerns, particularly given the Lent season and the approaching month of Ramadan.

The West African bloc has invited all four countries to an imminent meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *