Akufo-Addo nominates four to Supreme Court

Read Time: < 1 minute

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated four judges to serve as justices of the Supreme Court.

In a letter to Parliament on Tuesday, July 26, President Akufo-Addo called on the Speaker, Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin, to ensure the “expeditious” consideration of the nominees so that they can start work “as soon as practicable”.

The nominees are Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu, George Kingsley Koomson and Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu, all justices of the Court of Appeal, and High Court justice Ernest Yao Gaewu.

The President indicated that he was advised by the Judicial Council to make the nominations as a result of vacancies, some occasioned by death, at the apex court of the land.

That counsel came by a letter written by Chief Justice Kwesi Anin-Yeboah.

The nominations were, consequently, made, in accordance with Article 144(2) of the 1992 Constitution.

President Akufo-Addo’s letter read by the Speaker of Parliament indicated that the Council of State was informed about the nominations.

The Council has since completed its consultations and given its backing to the nominations.

“I am fully satisfied that each of these persons is duly qualified and eminently fit to discharge the functions of the justice of the Supreme Court,” President Akufo-Addo’s letter read in part.

“Mr Speaker, it is my respectful hope and expectation that the approval of the nominees will proceed expeditiously to enable them assume office as soon as practicable.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *