Kwaku Azar writes… The election petition

Read Time: < 1 minute

The election petition Court held its first hearing today (see updated calendar). The panel comprises of Anin Yeboah (CJ), Yaw Appau, Marful Sau, Nene Amegatcher, Prof Kotey, Mariama Owusu and Getrude Torkonoo.

As expected, the Court granted the petitioner’s motion to amend his petition by the end of the day and ordered the respondents to provide any amended answers by the end of the next day.

There are some noticeable differences between the 2020 Court and the 2012 Court.

First, the CJ is part of the 2020 panel while the then CJ was not on the 2012 panel. Second, the 2020 panel has 7 members compared to the 9 members of the 2012 panel. Third, the 2020 panel has 2 (29%) female justices compared to 3 (33%) in the 2012 panel.

Another interesting observation about the panel is that save for the CJ, the other panelists were not involved in the 2012 petition. This is expected because of retirement. However, some of the 2012 justices, including Dotse and Baffoe-Bonnie are not retired but are not on the panel.

Foxes have dens and birds have nests but #SALL have no seat in Parliament.

Da Yie!

Leave a Reply